Dad x

I am so glad I wrote this in time for me to say it to your face. You deserved to hear it.

We didn’t get to spend a lot of time together. But God must think it was enough.

You were always there for me when I needed you the most.

I’m lucky to be here when you need me the most.

I’ve always looked up to you, and not just because you’re taller than me, but for the man that you are. You worked hard and looked after your family and we will always appreciate everything you did for us.

Everybody knows you love your cars and your music, you could talk for hours about either one, usually with a pint in your left and cig in your right. Your love for music certainly got passed down to me and I will make sure it is passed down to my brothers. Thanks for that dad.

You were always a child at heart and up for a laugh and that’s why everybody loved you. But I always knew if things got serious, I could turn to you and you’d find a way to help.

The years that I didn’t know you, I used to dream about what my dad was like. You think you’ve disappointed me but I can tell you dad that you’re better than anything I thought you were going to be. You made up for everything, trust me. Everybody only has one dad…I’m glad you are mine.

I’m devastated beyond words that you won’t get to see the rest of my life… or the man I turn out to be.. I never thought our time together would be cut so short. You had so much life and love left in you. But I know you will always be with us one way or another.

You’re one of my best friends Dad. Thanks for teaching me everything I need to know and for all the life advice you gave me and thanks for not losing it with me when I forgot it.

Letting go of you is the hardest thing I’ll ever have to do in my life…but I know how much pain you’ve been in the last few months so it comforts me to know that you are at rest now.. and soon you will be smiling with a pint in your hand.

You have 2 beautiful sons, and me. They will grow up knowing what a great man you are and we will all make sure your memory is never lost. We all know how much you love your family.

You’re a young man, but you’ve had a fulfilling life. None of this is fair… but God only wants the best. You’ve left a mark on a lot of people’s hearts that will never be forgotten.

Like your idol Johnny Cash says, we’ll meet again, don’t know where, don’t know when, but I know we’ll meet again, some sunny day. Say hello to him for me.

See you soon dad.

Thanks for everything, you can finally relax now.

I love you forever

x

Leave a comment