Is this it?

Just as I’m lying here in my bed with the moon and stars shining in through my window I routinely start to over think. I stare at the stars and it dawns on me that in a little over a months time I’m going to be 22 years old. I feel as though I haven’t achieved anything significant, I have so many dreams but what if they just stay dreams?

As Drake once said ‘YOLO’ and people took the piss with that phrase haha but he’s absolutely right and I don’t want to waste my life away. I look into the sky and try picture how big the world actually is with nearly 8 billion people living on it and I think there must be something better than this?

There was a reason I was born in Dublin in 1993 and there’s a reason I’m here and it’s not just cause the condom broke! I believe the meaning of life is to find out why you are here, at this moment in time. I don’t think it’s all down to chance and you only have one life to discover yourself. Everybody has something to offer to the world, and everybody can make a difference, big or small, if they try hard enough. I know this is all real deep but I just realised I don’t wanna float through life and not see what the world has to offer me. I’m already practically 22 and I’m still living at home going to the same 9-5 job and it’s okay it’s ‘grand’ and I’m a lazy fucker too so that doesn’t help haha, but I’m certainly not satisfied with the way my life is.

I think I’ll start small and make mini changes to my lifestyle, try new activities and travel as much as I can. Then over time I might figure out what life actually means for me and how I can get the most out of it. You never know I might even find someone to share my life with, and she might bring some meaning to it 🙂 BUT that seems like a long shot but we’ll see…

All I know is I don’t want to be lying in the same bed at 23 looking at the big black sky regretting not having started living my life, or even worse be at the end of my life having not achieved or done ANYTHING really except work in the same job until retirement and then chill as an oul fella with my 30 year old wife haha.. No I know that’s not what I want. Although the 30 year old wife part wouldn’t be TOO bad 😉
There has to be more to life, and hopefully I find out that there is 🙂 if it doesn’t work out for me then at least I tried and really, what’s life without ambition?!

Wish me luck 😉

mae west

Leave a Reply

